IEEE Communications Society Communications Switching and Routing Technical Committee Meeting Minutes held during ICC'2009, Dresden, Germany Wednesday, June 17, 2009, 7:15am--8:30am, Seminar 3/Convention Center

Chair: Wojciech Kabacinski

The TCCSR bi-annual meeting was held during ICC'2009 on Wednesday, June 17, 2009 in Seminar-3 of the Convention Center, Dresden, Germany. The meeting was called to order at 7:15am and chaired by the TC chair, Prof. Wojciech Kabacinski.

- 1. The meeting started at 7:15am. The attendees introduced themselves to the meeting. A total of 20 members attended this TC meeting. The list of TC members presented at the end of the minutes.
- 2. Proposed minutes were approved.
- 3. TAC Report:

Wojciech Kabacinski reported about the TAC meeting. One of the important issues presented and discussed was technical co-sponsorship of workshops. Merrily Hartmann presented the new ComSoc policy. She said that in 2009 52 applications for co-sponsorship were approved and 19 were rejected. ComSoc wants to limit the number of events to 19 IEEE ComSoc Conferences and 4 TCs workshops which will be financially co-sponsored. For technically co-sponsored events new application form will be soon available on the ComSoc webpage. To obtain such co-sponsorship at least 3 TC members must be directly involved in the event organization. The procedure for withdrawal from the co-sponsorship is also considered in the future.

Marcus Brunner described about the new DLT selection process and that the deadline for nomination will be in August 2009.

Celia Desmond presented the current status for wireless certification program. More information can be found on the ComSoc webpage.

Alex Gelman presented information about the Standardization Committee. One of the requirements is that each TC should have a liaison in the standardization committee. The CSR TC has appointed Henry Suthon <henry.suthon@msbenbow.com> as our TC liaison to the Standardization Committee.

Steve Weinstein from the Awards Committee said that there are still very little nominations for different awards. TCs can nominate to awards through publication boards.

Finally short information about new TCs or sub-TCs was presented: Autonomic Communication, Consumer Networking, e-Health, Human Centric Communications, Integrated Fiber & Wireless Technologies, Nano-scale, Molecular & Quantum.

4. CSR TC Elections of new officers:

The TC held its election at this TC meeting. The Nomination and Election committee consisted of Heinirch J. Stuettgen, Andrzej Jajszczyk, and Wojciech Kabaciński. The N&E committee

had received nominations before the TC meeting, and received additional nominations from the floor during the meeting. The following are the elected officers:

- a. **Chair**: Abbas Jamalipour
- b. Vice-Chair: Guoliang Xue
- c. Secretary: Mohammed Atiquzzaman
- d. Conference and Workshop Chair: Hussein Mouftah

Abbas Jamlipour, Guoliang Xue, and Hussein Mouftah all received unanimous votes. For the Secretary position, Mohammed Atiquizzaman received 10 votes, while Achille Pattavina and Jun Zheng each received 5 votes. So Atiquizzaman was elected. The votes were counted, announced, and certified by Cheng Li and Grzegorz Danilewicz during the meeting.

- 5. Report on conferences and workshops:
 - a. ICC2009, Dresden: The TC has sponsored the following three symposiums: Wireless Networking Symposium: Abdelhamid Mellouk is a Co-Chair from our TC. Optical Networks and Systems Symposum: Kyriakos Vlachos is a Co-Chair from our TC. Next Generation Networking and Future Internet Symposium: Mohammed Atiquzzaman is a Co-Chair from our TC.
 - b. GC2009, Honolulu: Abbas Jamalipour is the CSR TC representative to Globecom2009. CSR TC sponsors Next generation Networks, Optical Networks, and Wireless Networking Symposiums. Xiaoming Fu is the co-chair to the Optical Networks, and Dr Yamanaka is the co-chair to the Optical Networks Symposium from CSR TC.
 - c. ICC2010, Cape Town: CSR TC is sponsoring three symposiums: Next Generation Networks, Optical Networks, and Wireless and Mesh Networks.
 - d. GC2010, Miami: CSR TC is co-sponsoring three symposiums: NGN, ONS, and WNS.
 - e. ICC2011, Kyoto: CSR TC is co-sponsoring three symposiums: ONS, WNS, and NGN.
 - f. HPSR2009: The HPSR2009 was held in Paris between 22 and 24 June just after ICC2009 in Dresden, Germany. There were 66 submitted papers, of which 28 were accepted.
 - g. HPSR2010 will be held in Dallas.
- 6. Publications:
 - a. The chair asked for information about any member activities in organizing special issues or feature topics in journals and magazines. This information is important for recertification process. He informed also about the special issue of IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications, Optical Communications and Networking Series about the role of optical and electronic technologies for large capacity switches and routers.
- 7. Other Business:
 - a. Nominations of the DL in ComSoc were reminded to the committee members.
- 8. Meeting adjourned at 8:30am.

List of Attendees:

Wociech Kabacinski (Chair) Abbas Jamalipour (Vice Chair) Guoliang Xue (Secretary) Naoaki Yamanaka (Conference and Workshop Chair) Hussein Mouftah Hongchi Shi Abdelhamid Mellouk Achille Pattavina Jun Zheng Andrzej Jajszczyk Grzegorz Danilewicz Cheng Li Joan Garcia-Haro Hussam Hassanein Mohammed Atiquzzaman Eiji Oki Baoxian Zhang Henry Suthon Xiaoming Fu Tommaso Melodia