## IEEE Communications Society Communications Switching and Routing Technical Committee Meeting Minutes held during ICC'2007, Glasgow, UK Wednesday, June 27, 2007, 7:30am--8:30am

## Chair: Wojciech Kabacinski

The TCCSR bi-annual meeting was held during ICC'2007 on Wednesday, June 27, 2007 at the Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel, Glasgow, UK. The meeting was called to order at 7:30am and chaired by the current TC chair, Prof. Wojciech Kabacinski.

- 1. Welcome/Introductions: The Chair called the meeting to order, and welcomed the members. The attendees introduced themselves to the meeting. A total of 20 members attend this TC meeting. The list of TC members presented at the end of the minutes.
- 2. Approval of Minutes from GC'2006: The minutes of the last TC meeting held during GC'2006 in San Francisco, USA, which was distributed to the members of this TC, both before and during the TC meeting, was approved unanimously.
- 3. TAC Report: Wojciech presented the TAC report. Eighteen TCs have been certified by the comsoc. Five TCs have been put on probation by the comsoc. CSR is one of the eighteen certified TCs. Wojciech gave also information presented during the TAC meeting about standard activites and the new structure of ICC and Globecom symposia list. TCs should also consider collaboration with their peer groups in other IEEE Societies. For CSR it may be a group about switching in Computer Society - subject for future work. TCs should be also more active in nominating candidates for Information different ComSoc awards. about ComSoc Wireless Communications Engineering Technology Certification program was also given.
- 4. **Policies and Procedures**: Wojciech has drafted the CSR policies and procedures and distributed it to the TC members. There were extensive discussions on the definition of *active membership* in the CSR. Due to time limitations, the discussion was postponed, while Hussein Mouftah has agreed to summarize the discussion results on this important definition. The current wording is the following: (A) to become an ordinary member, it is necessary to subscribe to the TCCSR mailing list as it is specified on the TCCSR webpage; (B) to become an active member, it is necessary to be an ordinary member, and also to satisfy at least one of the following conditions: (A1) has attended at least one of the regularly scheduled TCCSR meetings within the last two years; (A2) has served as a TPC chair or TPC co-chair, advisory board for conferences and workshops sponsored by

TCCSR IEEE Globecom Symposia, IEEE ICC symposia, and HPSR for the last five years and attend the TC meeting at least once in the past.

- 5. Elections: The election process was organized by Heiner, the election committee chair, while other members of the election committee, Hussein Mouftah and G.S. Kuo were present. Wojciech Kabacinski was elected unanimously as the TC Chair. Abbas Jamalipour was elected unanimously as the TC vice-Chair. Larry Xue was elected unanimously as the TC Secretary. Naoaki Yamanaka was elected unanimously as the HPSR advisory board chair.
- 6. **Conferences and Workshops**: Heiner reported the GITC motion on standardized symposia at ICC/Globecom that was passed at ICC'2007 in Glasgow. GITC defines a list of standard symposia that should be held at every IEEE Globecom and IEEE ICC conference. The intention is to provide
  - a. stability to the program from event to event
  - b. coverage of all technical areas of interest to ComSoc's constituency
  - c. a clear technical focus for each symposium
  - d. as much as possible complementarity, so that authors receive clear guidance where to submit their papers and experts as TPC members and reviewers know where to contribute their expertise.

The initial list of Symposia will be defined at this ICC conference, it will be reviewed and possibly redefined on an annual basis by GITC. The current list consists of the following symposia:

- 1. General Symposium on Selected Areas in Communications
- 2. Communication Theory Symposium
- 3. Signal Processing for Communications Symposium
- 4. Wireless Communications Symposium
- 5. Wireless Networking Symposium
- 6. Optical Networks and Systems Symposium
- 7. Next Generation Networking and Internet Symposium
- 8. Communications QoS, Reliability and Modelling Symposium
- 9. Adhoc and Sensor Networking Symposium
- 10. Communications Software and Services Symposium
- 11. Communication and Information System Security
- ICC 2007 CSR is involved in following symposia:
  - Network Services and Operation Burkhard Stiller and Marcus Brunner
  - Optical Networks and Systems Suresh Subramaniam, Stefano Bregni, Wojciech Kabaciński, and Admela Jukan

GLOBECOM 2007 - CSR is involved in following symposia:

- Steven Wright as representative to General Symposium
- Internet Protocol Symposium Nirwan Ansari, Mohammad Atiquzzaman, Nei Kato
- Optical Networks and Systems Symposium Admela Jukan, Ahmed Kamal, Achille Pattavina George Ellinas
- Wireless Networking Abbas Jamalipour, Dongmei Zhao, Mario Marchese Ekram Hossain

ICC 2008, Beijing – CSR is involved in following symposia:

 Advances in Networks & Internet Georg Carle, University of Tuebingen <u>carle@uni-tuebingen.de</u> Bin Liu, Tsinghua University <u>liub@tsinghua.edu.cn</u> Chunming Qiao, SUNY Buffalo <u>drqiao01@gmail.com</u>

 Optical Networks and Systems Georgios Ellinas, University of Cyprus, <u>gellinas@ucy.ac.cy</u> Mohan Gurusamy, National University of Singapore, <u>elegm@nus.edu.sg</u> Mounir Hamdi, Hong Kong Univ. of Sci. & Tech, <u>hamdi@cs.ust.hk</u>

- Communication Software and Services
   Algirdas Pakstas, London Metropolitan Univ.,
   <u>a.pakstas@ieee.org</u>
   Pascal Lorenz, Universite de Haute Alsace, <u>lorenz@ieee.org</u>,
   Gary Chan, Hong Kong Univ. of Sci. & Tech., <u>gchan@cs.ust.hk</u>,
- General Conference

Jianhua Lu, Tsinghua University, <u>lujh@wmc.ee.tsinghua.edu.cn</u>, Chang Wen Chen, Florida Institute of Technology, <u>cchen@fit.edu</u>,

Stefano Bregni, Politecnico di Milano, <u>bregni@elet.polimi.it</u>,

GLOBECOM 2008 - CSR is involved in following symposia:

- Optical Networks and Systems Symposium Grzegorz Danilewicz
- Wireless Networking Symposium Abbas Jamalipour
- Next Generation Networks, Internet Services, Protocols, and Enabling Technologies Symposium Jun Zheng
- Communication Software and Services Symposium Abdelmahid Mellouk

ICC 2009 - CSR is involved in following symposia:

 Optical Networks and Systems Symposium Kyriakos Vlachos proposed as the co-chair

	<ul> <li>Wireless Networking Symposium</li> <li>Abdelmahid Mellouk proposed as the co-chair</li> <li>Next Generation Networking Symposium (co-chair, TPC)</li> </ul>
HPSR 2007	<ul> <li>New York, Wojciech and Naoaki provide information about this workshop held in May/June 2007.</li> </ul>
HPSR 2008	– Beijing, June 15-17, 2007 Larry Xue made a presentation about

- 7. **Publications**: Abbas Jamalipour and Mohammed Atiquzzaman edited a featured topic on "New Trends in Mobile Internet Technologies and Applications" of the IEEE Communications Magazine.
- 8. Meeting adjourned at 8:30am.

HPSR'2008.

## List of Attendees:

Wociech Kabacinski (TCCSR Chair) Abbas Jamalipour (TCCSR Vice Chair) Larry Xue (TCCSR Secretary) Mounir Hamdi Peter Mueller Abdelhamid Mellouk G.S. Kuo Andrzej Jajszczyk Janusz Kleban Mariusz Zal Jun Zheng Cheng Li Hussein Mouftah Yi Qian Naoaki Yamanaka Kun Yang Mohammed Atiquzzaman Heiner Stuttgen Su Zhou Pascal Lorenz Minutes recorded by Larry Xue (TCCSR secretary)