Minutes (to be approved at ICC2009) Communications Switching and Routing Technical Committee (TCCSR)

Meeting at Globecom 2008, New Orleans, LA

Wednesday, December 3rd, 2008 7:15 to 8:15 am Hilton New Orleans Riverside, Marlborough A – 2nd Floor

1. Welcome/Introduction

The Chair of CSR TC opened the TC meeting at 7:25am and asked for any changes or addition to the proposed agenda. The agenda was approved as proposed by the Chair. Welcome to the meeting and self introduction by the attendees were made. There were 17 member attended the meeting. The list of participants is included at the end of the minutes.

2. Approval of minutes from ICC'2008

The draft minutes from ICC2008 was presented to the meeting and was approved without any changes as the correct record of the TC meeting in May 2008.

3. TAC Report

Chair has presented a report on TAC meeting. It was noted that from July 2008 any event to be co-sponsored by ComSoc should follow the new rules. A new version of those rules will be available in Spring 2009. Some of elements of the new rules are:

- The even proposal review process will be through web.
- At least three TPC members of the event must be from ComSoc members.
- There are new rules on the use of ComSoc logo. There are separate logos for ComSoc and the ComSoc Chapters.
- For strategic events there is a separate process for approval.

In 2008, 24 events were sponsored financially, 62 events technically, and 15 applications were declined.

Chair also mentioned the Distinguished Lectures nomination and selection in 2008. In 2008 21 DL were nominated including two from CSR TC, Kishar S. Trivedi and Tatsuya Suda. 11 have been selected including the two from CSR TC. Selection criteria include being good speaker, well recognized in the community, and dispersion of topics.

Chair also mentioned the Wireless Certification process. It was noted that the certification in now ready and information handbook is available. In the future there will be new areas for the certification including for WiMAX, WiFi, Broadband, Mesh Networks, etc.

The Chair mentioned also about the Standard Board which was presented by Alex Gelman to TAC. Each TC should appoint a representative or liaison to the Standard Board, which is going to be appointed by the TC Chair. An MoU with ITU-T is ready.

There are new TC proposals including one on Integrated Fiber and Wireless Technologies (TC FiWi), one sub-committee on Human-Centric Communications (HCCTC), and one sub-committee on Nano-Scale Molecular and Quantum Network. Status of the sub-committee on e-Health was also discussed.

- 4. Conferences and Workshops
 - Globecom'2008
 - a. CSR TC has sponsored Optical Networks, Communication Software and Services, and Next Generation Networks Symposiums. Abdelhamid Mellouk gave some report on the symposium where he was a co-chair.
 - ICC'2009
 - a. CSR TC sponsors Wireless Networking, Optical Networks, and Next Generation Network Symposiums. Abdelhamid Mellouk presented a short report as a co-chair.
 - Globecom'2009
 - a. Abbas Jamalipour is the CSR TC representative to Globecom2009. Our TC sponsors Next generation Networks, Optical Networks, and Wireless Networking Symposiums. Xiaoming Fu is the co-chair to the Optical Networks, and Dr Yamanaka is the co-chair to the Optical Networks Symposium from CSR TC.
 - ICC'2010
 - a. Dr Yamanaka is the TC representative to ICC2010 in Kyoto, Japan. Our TC will sponsor Next Generation Networks, Optical Networks, and Wireless and Mobile Networking Symposiums.
 - Globecom'2010
 - a. Wojciech Kabacinski will be the CSR TC representative to Globecom2010 in Miami. There will be a TPC meeting this morning for Globecom2010. The set of symposia chairs was proposed by Conference Co-Chairs. TCs get one co-chair position in one symposium.
 - HPSR'2009
 - a. The HPSR2009 will be in Paris between 22 and 24 June just after ICC2009 in Dresden, Germany. CFP was distributed to the meeting by Andelhamid Mellouk.
 - HPSR'2010
 - a. There is no proposal to date for HPSR2010 and the TC is looking for proposals from North America. Please send your proposals to Dr Yamanaka, TC Workshop Chair.
 - Other conferences and workshops
 - a. For HPSR2011 and HPSR2012 we are looking for proposals from Asia and Europe, respectively. If no candidate for America or Asia, Spain in ready for having HPSR earlier than 2012 in Cartagena, by the Polytechnique of Cartagena.
 - b. There was mentioning of the following workshops by the attendees which could be of interest of members: International Teletraffic Conference, Sarnoff 2009, International Workshop on QoS 2009, and the 6th

International Conference on Wireless and Optical Communication Networks (WCON2009).

5. Election of the Nominations & Elections Committee

According to the TC policies we should have a general election for the TC officers during the next TC meeting to be held in ICC2009 in Dresden, Germany. Based on policies we need to organize a nomination committee which includes the past chair (Heinrich Stüttgen) and current Chair (Wojciech Kabacinski) and an invited member (nominated Andrzej Jajszczyk). A motion has been proposed on the above nomination committee and it was approved unanimously.

TC members can send their comment and nomination to the people in nomination committee. The nomination committee will work on candidates for the four positions of Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and Workshop Chair. The current Vice Chair and Secretary are to inform the committee on their willing to run for the office.

6. Publications

No new special issue was mentioned. There is however a special issue in IEEE J-SAC ONS on Large Capacity Switches and Routers.

7. Other Business

Heinrich Stüttgen mentioned about the initiative on industry involvement in Design & Developers forum but they are not to be included on IEEE Xplore.

It was also stated that TC members present their nomination for IEEE Fellow to TC Chair for possible endorsement by TC.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:15 am.

List of attendees:

Wojciech Kabacinski, Poznan Univ. Tech., Poland (TC Chair) Anura Jayasumana, Colorado State University, USA Grzegorz Danilewicz, Poznan Univ. Tech., Poland Naoaki Yamanaka, Keio University, Japan (TC Workshop Chair) Marilia Lurado, University Coimbra, Portugal Xiaoming Fu, University of Goettingen, Germany Weiyi Zhang, North Dakota State University, USA Jing Wu, CRC, Canada Jian Tang, Montana State University, USA Abdelhamid Mellouk, Univ. Paris12, France Jaafar Gaber, UTBM, France Arun Sen, Arizona State University, USA Abbas Jamalipour, University of Sydney, Australia (TC Vice Chair) Otto Carlos Duarte, COPPE/UFRJ, Brasil Nirwan Ansari, NJIT, USA Andrzej Jajszczyk, AGH University, Poland Heinrich Stüttgen, NEC, Germany Minutes prepared by Abbas Jamalipour, CSR TC Vice Chair – 12 December 2008.