Wireless Communications Technical Committee (WTC)

Wednesday, December 6th, 2023

Globecom 2023, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

ICC 2023 Wireless Communications Technical Committee (WTC) on Wednesday 6/12/23 Chaired by the WTC Vice-Chair: Jie Xu on behalf of Yue Gao (absent).

In Attendance: Jie Xu (WTC Vice-Chair), Adlen Ksentini (WTC Secretary), and WTC members (see the attendance list)

Meeting started at 12:00pm Malaysian time, Wednesday, December 6, 2023

- 1. Welcome and Introduction
 - The vice-chair initiated the WTC meeting.
- 2. Approval of the Agenda
 - The agenda was presented by the Vice-Chair, moved by Shiwen Mao, and seconded by Cheng Shan-Xiao. There were no objections and no abstentions. The Agenda was unanimously approved.
- 3. Approval of ICC 2023 meeting minutes.
 - The minutes were presented by the Vice-Chair, moved by Shiwen Mao, and seconded by Wei Zhang. There were no objections and no abstentions. The meeting minutes were unanimously approved.
- 4. General introduction of WTC general information and mission statement
- 5. WTC Activities:
 - Information on the WTC activities is presented, covering: Endorsement of conferences for TWC co-sponsorship, Nomination for Symposium Co-chairs of ICC and Globecom, Endorsement of IEEE Fellowship, and nomination for Comsoc distinguished lecturer.
- 6. Emerging Technologies & SIG
 - o Expression of interest in SIG submission
 - o Information on TWC support on SIG
- 7. New initiatives of Comsoc
 - The Comsoc TC Newsletter
 - ComSoc YouTube channel
 - o IEEETV
- 8. WTC Awards:
 - Presentation of the three awards given by WTC: WTC recognition awards, WTC Outstanding Young Researcher Award, and a new Service Award to be announced. Details are given on each award and how to apply.
 - o During the meeting, the awards were delivered to the winners.
 - 1. WTC Recognition Award: Ross Murch for contribution to multiple Antenna systems for Wireless communications.
 - 2. WTC Technical Recognition Award: Shuguang Cui for contribution to Intelligent And efficient Wireless Systems
 - 3. WTC Outstanding Young Researcher Award: Haibo Zhou for contribution to wireless access and resource management in Vehicular networks and space-air-ground integrated networks.
 - 4. WTC Service Award: Lajos Hanzo for life-long services promoting telecommunications.

- 9. A seminar by Ross Murch on multiple antenna systems has been presented.
- 10. Discussion
- 11. Adjourn (2:05pm)