# **Meeting Minutes**

## **Technical Committee on Smart Grid Communications (TC-SGC)**

Location: Virtual Conference (Zoom), Before IEEE SmartGridComm 2023

Time: 4pm-5pm (CET), Thursday 09 Nov 2023

#### **List of Attendees:**

Family Name	First Name	Organisation
Zhang	Yan	University of Oslo, Norway
Lehnert	Ralf	TU Dresden, Germany
Dán	György	KTH, Sweden
Chen	Binbin	Singapore University of Technology and Design
Vukobratovic	Dejan	University of Novi Sad, Serbia
Reinhardt	Andreas	TU Clausthal, Germany
Develder	Chris	TU Clausthal, Germany
LORENZ	Pascal	University of Haute Alsace, France
Yang	Kun	University of Essex, UK
Tonello	Andrea	Alpen-Adria University, Austria
Sikora	Cyn	IEEE ComSoc industry outreach and technical activities director
Hans-Peter	Schwefel	Aalborg University, Denmark
Eirini Eleni	Tsiropoulou	University of New Mexico
bayram	safak	University of strathclyde
Tang	Xiaoying	Chinese University of Hong Kong, shen zhen
Jose A.	Cortes	University of malaga(spain)
Gautham	Prasad	University of British Columbia, Canada

### Agenda

- Call to order
- Approval of the agenda
- Approval of previous meeting minutes
- Reports on nominations, conferences and journals
- Report on SIGs activities
- Status of webinars organization
- Awards and nominations committee announcements
- Election of the TC officers for the 2024-25 term
- Any other business
- Adjourn

The meeting started at 4pm CET (GMT+1) as chaired by the TC-SGC Chair Andrea Tonello.

During the meeting, the Chair presented a set of slides, covering the following aspects:

- (1) The chair introduced the **agenda**, which was agreed upon. Also, the minutes of the last meeting were agreed upon.
- (2) After introducing the TC's mission and the TC officers, the chair reported the current status of the **membership** please refer to Slide 6 of the Chair's presentation ppt for more detail. All participants of the meeting were encouraged to enroll to the mailing list to become a member.

(3) The chair summarized the **nominations** for **SGC Track chair positions** at the upcoming IEEE ICC and Globecom conferences, and in particular for Globecom 2025. Calls for Nominations are announced regularly via the TC-SGC mailing list.

The most recent nominations are:

• IEEE Globecom 2023: University of Singapore Biplab Sikdar, National

IEEE ICC 2024 SGC track:

Subhash Lakshminarayana

Deadline 12 Nov., 2023 – 15 papers submitted so far – TPC with experience in PLC can volunteer and contact Subhash

• IEEE ICC 2025 SGC track:

Kun Yang

IEEE Globecom 2025

Nominations welcome by Nov. 10, 23

- (4) The SmartGridComm 2023 (31 October 3 November 2023) were held in Glasgow, UK
  - Venue: University of Strathclyde, The Technology and Innovation Centre located at: 99 George St, Glasgow G1 1RD, United Kingdom
  - Organizers: Stuart Galloway, Stephen McArthur, Gareth Harrison
  - TPC co-chairs: Safak Bayram, György Dan, Muhammad Zeeshan Shakir, C. Y. Chung, Masood Parvania
  - Website: <a href="https://sgc2023.ieee-smartgridcomm.org/">https://sgc2023.ieee-smartgridcomm.org/</a>
  - Symposium papers submitted 147 accepted: 72
  - Workshop papers submitted: 38 accepted 19
  - 4 Keynote speakers 5 Tutorials 2 Panels
  - Paid registrations: 136

#### (5) IEEE SmartGridComm 2024

- Location: Oslo, Norwey. Date: September 2024
- Organizers: Yan Zhang, and co-chairs G. Chicco, A. Tonello
- It has been decided to merge ISPLC into SmartGridComm (starting in 2024).
  - There will be an additional Symposium on Power Line Communications
  - Potential to bring in more submissions, participants and industry patrons.
- Paper submission: 10 April, 2024
- Submission proposals for: Workshops, panels, tutorials
- (6) Special issues: the Chair encouraged the TC attendants to send the SI information organized by them to the TC so that cfp can be advertise on the TC website:
- (7) The chair, assisted by some **SIG** organizers, reported on the SIGs of the TC (see slides 12-15):
  - 1. SIG Communications and Networks to Enable the Smart Grid
    - Chair: Dejan Vukobratovic University of Novi Sad

- Vice Chair: Gregor Verbic University of Sidney
- 2. SIG Cyber Security and Privacy for the Smart Grid
  - Chair: Lalitha Sankar Arizona State University
  - Vice Chair: György Dan KTH
  - Vice Chair: Jinsub Kim- Oregon State Univ.
- 3. SIG Energy Storage and Electric Vehicles
  - Chair: Hamid Nazaripouya UC Riverside
  - Vice chair: Phuong Nguyen TU Eindhoven
- 4. AI and Computational Intelligence
  - Chair: Yan Zhang University of Oslo
  - Vice-chair: Melike Erol-Kantarci University of Ottawa
  - Vice-chair: Damla Turgut University of Central Florida

The coming new chair of the TC is encouraged to rethink the current SIG infrastructure and adjust accordingly.

(8) **Webinars**: The objective is to engage more our community and offer some value. It was suggested that Webinars can be part of the SIG activities. Current webinar proposals are as follows:

Power Line Communications for Smart Grid, Residential and Industry Applications – October 6, 2023

- Organizers: Jose Antonio Cortes Arrabal, Andrea Tonello
- Speakers: Andrea Tonello, Cedric Lavenu, Marcos Martinez
- Registered participants: 190
- Attendees: about 100
- Recorded video at: https://plc.committees.comsoc.org/seminars/
- (9) SIGs can send a brief **webinar** proposal to the TC Chair with the following information:
  - o Title/topic of the webinar
  - o Possible speaker/s
  - o Date (indication of time period)
  - (10) Election of new officers:
    - Election procedure explained in the P&Ps
    - Nomination and election committee
      - Andrea Tonello, Chris Develder, Vincent Wong, Angela Yingjun Zhang, Lutz Lampe
    - Eligible candidates must be voting members
    - Next steps
      - Call for nominations for all three positions Chair, Vice-chair, Secretary
      - Vote collected via email
  - (11) Any other business: n/a
  - (12) Next meeting: ICC 2024

The meeting was adjourned at 4:45pm CET.

(Minutes by Kun Yang, TC Secretary)