IEEE Communication Society Technical Committee on Power Line Communications (PLC) Meeting, 19 September 2024

Date: 19 September 2024

Time: 16:30 (European Central Time)

Location: (in person) ISPLC 2024 Venue in Oslo (Norway) and virtually in Zoom

Attendance

In person (12)

José A. Cortes (Chair)	Lutz Lampe
Cédric Lavenu (Vice Chair)	Anil Mengi
Thokozani Shongwe (Secretary)	Alfredo Sanz
Javier Giménez	Andrea Tonello
Jon González-Ramos	Javier Vildósola
Klaus Hueske	Han Vinck

Online (5)

Francisco Cañete	Cyn Sikora
Shiwen Mao	Scott Willy
Gautham Prasad	

Draft agenda

1. Approval of the agenda

Approved.

2. Approval of the previous meeting minutes (attached)

Approved

3. ANC report on TC-PLC awards

Now giving the 2022 and 2023 awards. Gap in giving awards due to COVID.

2022 Awardees:

- -TC-PLC Inter-disciplinary Research and Application Award: <u>Klaus Hueske</u>, for many years of active contributions to the design, standardization and promotion of narrowband PLC and hybrid PLC & RF technologies. He is also very active in expanding the range of application of NB-PLC beyond Smart Grid and Smart Metering.
- -TC-PLC Outstanding Service Award: <u>Reinhard Pannold</u>, for his long record of contributions related to the promotion of PLC technology for smart grids and smart metering. He has organized several scientific and industrial events on smart energy and PLC. He has significantly helped the organization of several WSPLCs and ISPLCs,

contributed to the technical program conception and the outreach of industry colleagues, thus strengthening the academia-industry cooperation.

2023 Awardees:

- -TC-PLC Inter-disciplinary Research and Application Award: <u>Nico Weling</u>, in recognition of his immense contributions to PLC research especially at the intersection of industry/standardization and academia. His extensive contributions in the area of PLC-DSL co-existence research and his advocacy for PLC prominence in the upper MHz range in standardization bodies is of particular emphasis.
- -TC-PLC Outstanding Service Award: <u>Markus Rindchen</u>, for many years of active contributions to the development, and promotion of broadband Powerline Communications (BPL) technology for Smart Metering and Smart Grids. He is very active in standardization and made significant contributions to the development of PLC standards in several national and international committees including the DKE, CENELEC, ITU and IEEE. He has also helped the organization of several WSPLCs and ISPLCs.

Awards will be presented on 19/09/2024 during the Gala Dinner of the SmartGridComm'24 in Olso, Norway.

José A. Cortés thanks the work done by the Awards Subcommittee members: Cédric Lavenu (Chair), Andrea Tonello, Bamidele Adebisi, Gautham Prasad, George Hallak.

4. Report on TC-PLC activities

4a. Report on SmartGridComm 2024

José A. Cortés gives some statistics regarding the submissions and accepted papers about PLC submitted to the Symposium on PLC of the SmartGridComm 2024:

- -Symposium co-chairs: Tao Zheng, Thokozani Zhongwe
- -Submissions: 15 (+1 registered but no manuscript uploaded) / 184 whole conference (142 attendees)
- -Accepted: 8 (53.3%) / 100 (48.1%) whole conference
- -First author country: 3CN, 3 ES, 2 ZA, 2 CZ, 2 AT, 1 CA, 1 US, 1 DE

5. Nomination of TPC co-chairs for the PLC symposium at SmartGridComm 2025

General chair of SmartGridComm 2025, *Pirathayini Srikantha*, request the names of the co-chairs for the PLC symposium.

- Proposal: (a) Lutz Lampe (UBC) and (b) Cédric Lavenu (EDF).

The above co-chairs were approved at the meeting

6. Update of the PLC DocSearch

Franscisco gave a presentation. More information in the presentation slides.

7. Discussion and decision on the dissolution of the TC-PLC

Term of the current officers of the TC-PLC ended and elections could not proceed because there was only one candidate for the Vice Chairperson (no candidates for chair and secretary).

The following two options were presented:

- (1) Since restructuring of committees in CommSoc is ongoing, a temporary solution accepted by Shiwen Mao (Director of the Technical Committee Board) is to continue the TC-PLC with minimum activity until the restructuring is completed and then integrate as a Technical Working Group within a larger TC.
- (2) Proposal by Tonello: Integrate our TC-PLC into the TC on Smart Grid Communications as a Special Interest Group (SIG).

Two motions arose from the above situation.

- (a) Motion to dissolve the TC-PLC: was unanimously approved.
- (b) Motion to establish a SIG in the TC on SGC: was unanimously approved.

The name of the SIG was agreed to be "Power Line Communications".

Then chair and co-chairs for SIG were proposed and voted with the following result:

- Chair: Cédric Lavenu
- Co-Chairs: Alfredo Sanz, Anil Mengi and José A. Cortés

Also, the following names will be proposed to the chair of the TC on SGC:

Standards Liaison: Cédric LavenuIndustrial relation: Anil Mengi

7. Any other business

None

The last meeting of the TC-PLC ended at 17:49 (CEST)