IEEE ComSoc Technical Committee on Power Line Communications Committee meeting held at 2010 IEE ISPLC

Rio Othon Hotel, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil, on 29 March 2010

Attendees (35 present):

The attendee list is presented in the Appendix A.

Agenda for the meeting:

- 1. Welcome and introduction
- 2. Approval of previous meeting minutes Available on-line, see http://www.comsoc.org/bopl/ Click on the "Meetings" tab
- 3. Overview on current activities
 - a) Conferences & Workshops
 - Status of PLC Vertical Workshops 2010
 - Status of ISPLC 2010 and ISPLC 2011
 - Status of ICC & Globecom 2010
 - Status of IEEE SmartGridComm 2010
 - b) Paper Database issues
 - Periodic update procedures
 - Nomination of librarians
 - c) Report on standardization activities
 - d) Smart Grid activities in ComSoc and TC-PLC
- 4. TC-PLC matters
 - a) Report of N&EC, ratification of officers' elections
 - b) Report of the A&NC
 - c) ISPLC steering committee update
- 5. Other issues brought up by members
- 6. Adjourn

Minutes:

1. Stefano Galli (Chair) opens the meeting at 19.10. Vincent Guillet volunteers to take minutes. A role call is done for the people attending the meeting.

Stefano Galli introduces the result of the TC-PLC officer election Lutz Lampe elected Chair, Andrea Tonello elected Vice-Chair, Moises Ribeiro elected Secretary With the encouragement of the Chair Stefano Galli, Gerd Bumiller moves that the new officers assume their roles immediately. Ralf Lehnert seconds. Approved with no opposition.

Lutz Lampe (Chair) thanks the past TC-PLC Chair Stefano Galli for his extraordinary efforts and success in leading the TC-PLC since its inception.

2. Minutes of previous meeting are approved.

3. a) Conference and Workshops

Status of 2010 PLC Vertical Workshop

Han Vinck proposes the topic "PLC for SG" and volunteers to organize the workshop.

Overlap with 2010 IEEE SmartGridComm (4-6 October 2010) needs to be avoided.

Status of 2010 IEEE ISPLC

Moises Ribeiro (2010 ISPLC General Chair) reports. See the report posted at www.comsoc.org/bopl (under Past Events).

Francisco Cañete (2010 ISPLC TPC Co-Chair) reports on submissions, review process, and acceptance rates. See the report posted at www.comsoc.org/bopl (under Past Events).

Discussion on review process for future ISPLCs (number of reviews, time line, etc.)

Status of 2010 IEEE Globecom

Francisco Cañete (TPC Co-Chair) reports on tracks, submission deadlines, etc. for Symposium on Selected Areas in Communications at 2010 IEEE Globecom.

Status of 2011 IEEE ISPLC

Andrea Tonello (2011 ISPLC General Chair) reports. Discussion on paper submission deadlines, special sessions, and conference proceedings. Important dates under discussion are the following. Special session proposal: 5/11/2010; Special session acceptance: 18/11/2010; Paper abstract registration (EDAS): 7/11/2010; Full paper submission: November 21/11/2010; Paper review deadline: 9/1/2011; Paper decision: 17/1/2011; Camera ready paper: 4/2/2011.

Status on 2010 IEEE SmartGridComm:

Stefano Galli (2010 SmartGridComm Co-Chair) reports. Paper submission deadline 1st of May, 2010.

Stefano Galli reports on the effort from the IEEE ComSoc to address the problem of Smart Grid in a broad, inclusive approach and on the ComSoc

Ad-Hoc Committee on Smart Grid Communications recently created by ComSoc President Byeong Gi Lee. Stefano Galli was appointed by Byeong Gi Lee to Chair the ad-hoc committee.

b) Paper Database issues

Lutz Lampe reports. Call for volunteers to continue this project.

c) Report on standardization activities

Stefano Galli reports on status of IEEE P1901, ITU-T G.hn, and the new ITU-T G.hnem. IEEE P1901 is going officially under sponsor ballot process. ITU-T G.hn has given final approval to PHY layer (G.9960) in October 2009, while the DLL (G.9961) layer has been consented in October 2009 and is now going through comment resolution. Also G.cx (G.9972, PLC coexistence) was consented in October 2009 and is now going through comment resolution. Final approval of G.hn and G.cx is expected for June 2010 in Geneva.

Jim LeClare (Chair of P1901.2) reports on the new IEEE P1901.2 working group for standardization of a low-frequency, narrowband PLC standard, for smart grid and electric mobility applications.

Gerd Bumiller comments on standardization efforts in Europe.

d) Smart Grid activities in ComSoc and TC-PLC

Covered under SmartGridComm above.

4. TC-PLC matters

a) Report of N&EC, ratification of officers' elections

Stefano Galli reports on the work of the N&EC.

Stefano Galli also reports that TC-PLC membership has grown from 50 to about 400 and has probably reached a critical size. He points out the fact that all new officers are academic, but this should not limit the TC interest and involvement in standardization and industry activities.

He also reports on an assignment given to the TC-PLC from Sergio Benedetto (VP Member Relations), Len Cimini (VP Publications) and Mark Karol (VP Technical Activities). The goal is to create a set of recommended and best readings, with some commentary; a set of open and key problems, including standardization. Initially this work would be posted on our TC website and maybe later put behind a password and available only to ComSoc members only. Also, a Community Group should be opened on ComSoc's website to facilitate ideas exchange between TC membership and

even foster panels with PLC experts. Although initial assignment was about PLC, Stefano Galli suggests to include topics related to PLC and Smart Grid as well. TC-PLC will be the first TC to look into this so we need to do a good job!

b) Report of the A&NC

Lutz Lampe reports on the work of the A&NC.

TC-PLC Outstanding Service Award will be presented during 2010 ISPLC banquet.

A nomination for the Communications Society Fred W. Ellersick Prize, which is "Given annually to the best article published in a Communications Society magazine in the past year" has been made

Career Awards Nominations have been made:

Distinguished Lecturer - one nomination

IEEE Communications Society Industrial Innovation Award – one nomination

IEEE Communications Society Edwin Howard Armstrong Achievement Award – 4 nominations

Recommendations for better support for TC-PLC membership to apply for IEEE Senior Membership

Lutz Lampe encourages members to make some proposal of nomination for each awards, including TC-PLC (see http://committees.comsoc.org/bopl/).

Stefano Galli adds that the committee should recognize senior members.

c) ISPLC steering committee update

Outgoing members: Stefano Galli (past TC-PLC Chair) and Marco Raugi (2007 IEEE ISPLC General Chair)

New members: Lutz Lampe (TC-PLC Chair) and Moises Ribeiro (2010 IEEE ISPLC General Chair)

5. Other issues brought up by members

None

6. Adjourn

Meeting adjourned 22:00.

Appendix A - Attendees

Haniph Latchmann (phone)
Mauro Biagi (phone)
Poida Ana (phone)
Hidayat Lioe (phone)
Lutz Lampe
Ralf Lehnert
Masaaki Katayama
Stefano Galli
Daniel C O'Neil
Pedro Jatoba
Francisco Canete
Simone Bois
Ahmed Zeddam
Vincent Guillet
Jae-Jo Lee
Jin Young Kim
Antti Kosonen
Gerd Bumiller
Moises Ribeiro
Fabio Versolato
Andrea Tonello
Haroldo Zattar
Hendrik Ferreira
Reolyn Haymann
Alan Ti Sherman
Angelantonio Gnazzo
Mauro Tucci
Moacyr Mortucci
Alfredo Sanz
Javad Yazdani
Bahram Honary
Han Vinck
Jim LeClare
Anna Scaglione
Cecilia Galarza (phone)

Final. Vincent Guillet and Lutz Lampe.