## **IEEE ComSoc Technical Committee on Power Line Communications**

# **ISPLC 2009, Committee Meeting**

## Dresden, Germany – March 30, 2009

## Present (29):

(in order of signing the attendance sheet)

- 1. Stefano Galli
- 2. Vincent Guillet
- 3. Salvatore D'Alessandro
- 4. Eleonora Guerrini
- 5. Raffaele Riva
- 6. Pedro Jatoba
- 7. Marco Raugi
- 8. Andrea Tonello
- 9. Daniel Popa
- 10. Jaroslaw Kussyk
- 11. Lutz Lampe
- 12. Gerd Bumiller
- 13. Masaaki Katayama
- 14. Moises Vidal Ribeiro
- 15. Ralf Lehnert
- 16. Alfredo Sanz
- 17. Han Vinck
- 18. Bahram Honary
- 19. Niovi Pavlidou
- 20. Javad Yazdani
- 21. Moacyr Martucci
- 22. John Newbury
- 23. Le Phu Do
- 24. Michael Koch
- 25. Halid Hrasnica
- 26. Francisco J. Canete
- 27. Jose Antonio Cortes
- 28. Haniph Latchman
- 29. Badri Varadarajan

## Agenda

- 1. Welcome and introduction
- 2. Approval of previous meeting minutes.

Available on-line, see http://www.comsoc.org/bopl/ - Click on the "Meetings" tab.

- 3. Conferences:
  - a. Report on IEEE ISPLC 2009 (Conference Chair)
  - b. Report of TPC Co-Chairs on IEEE ISPLC 2009
  - c. Report on IEEE ISPLC 2010, Rio de Janeiro
  - d. Call for IEEE ISPLC 2011
  - e. Report on the 2009 Vertical Workshop in Udine
  - f. Call for Workshop 2010
  - g. Status Globecom 2009 / 2010
- 4. TC-PLC activities
  - a. Election of ANC members
  - b. Awards and Nominations issues
  - c. ISPLC Steering Committee member election
  - d. ISPLC Steering Committee issues
  - e. PLC document database
- 5. Report on standardization activities
- 6. Other Issues brought up by members
- 7. Adjourn

## Meeting Minutes.

#### 1) Welcome and introduction (7 pm)

Welcome by Chairman Stefano Galli.

# 2) Approval of previous meeting minutes - Available on-line, see <a href="http://www.comsoc.org/bopl/">http://www.comsoc.org/bopl/</a> - Click on the "Meetings" tab.

Minutes approved with no opposition.

#### 3) Conferences

- a. Report on IEEE ISPLC 2009
   Chair Ralf Lehnert reports on ISPLC 2009. See the report posted at <a href="http://www.comsoc.org/bopl">www.comsoc.org/bopl</a> (under Past Events).

  Discussion items: Include banquet in registration fee? Include local chapters as co-sponsor?
- Report of TPC Co-Chairs on IEEE ISPLC 2009 TPC Co-Chair Halid Hrasnica reports on TPC work. See the report posted at www.comsoc.org/bopl(under Past Events, ISPLC 2009).
  - Discussion items: TPC meeting useful? Face to face TPC meeting is appreciated, But traveling cost is not covered. Audio conference solution is proposed by Pr Lehnert. Advance submission deadline? TPC Co-Chairs of previous conference serve as consultant for next years. Always present a Best Paper or Student Best Paper Award – Decision by the ISPLC Steering Committee pending.

- c. Report on IEEE ISPLC 2010
  Chair Moises Ribeiro reports on ISPLC 2010. See the report posted at <a href="http://www.comsoc.org/bopl">www.comsoc.org/bopl</a> (under Current Events).
  Discussion items: Paper submission deadline TBD by TPC Co-Chairs.
- d. Call for proposals to host IEEE ISPLC 2011 TC Chair Stefano Galli will send out call for proposals to be submitted by Sep. 15<sup>th</sup>.
- e. Vertical Workshop 2009 in Udine Andrea Tonello updates on the organization of this workshop. Workshop dates are October 1-2, 2009 Feature topic is "Signal Processing/System Modeling for PLC" The workshop will include a tutorial about in-home PLC (related to EU FP7 OMEGA Project) Workshop website <u>http://www.diegm.uniud.it/WSPLC09</u> IEEE TC-PLC *supports* the workshop Discussion item: A two-page abstract could be archived.
- f. Call for Workshop 2010 Potential workshop organizers will be approached by the TC-PLC leadership.
- g. Status Globecom 2009 / 2010 SAC Co-Chair Masaaki Katayama reports on GC 2009. It would have been preferable to have "PLC" being included in the track name. SAC Co-Chair Francisco Canete reports on GC 2010. Track name will be Access and Home Networks. Stefano Galli suggests to add "Smart Grids" to the topics.

#### 4) TC PLC Activities

a. Election of ANC members

Outgoing ANC Chair Lutz Lampe reports on the role of ANC. Volunteers to serve as ANC members: Lutz Lampe, Masaaki Katayama, Javad Yazdani, Moises Ribeiro – approved with no opposition Nominee for ANC Chair: Haniph Latchman

- b. Awards and Nomination Issues
  - None (see a.)
- c. ISPLC Steering Committee member election

TC-PLC Chair and former three ISPLC Chairs are members of the ISPLC Steering Committee (Galli, Raugi, Lee, Lehnert) Election of two additional members (with no opposition): Nivoi Pavlidou and

- Andrea Tonello
- d. ISPLC Steering Committee issues None (see c.)
- e. PLC document database Team of librarians (see minutes for GC2009 meeting) still to be established.

#### 5) Report on standardization activities

Covered widely in keynote by TC-PLC Chair Stefano Galli ISPLC 2009 keynotes now posted on line at:

http://cms.comsoc.org/eprise/main/SiteGen/ISPLC\_2009\_/Content/Home/program\_inf o.html New standard group IEEE P2030 for Smart Grid has been launched (Chair: Dick DeBlasio) IEEE Transactions on Smart Grids will be launched soon, probably 2010.

6) Other Issues brought up by members

None.

## 7) Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 22:23 pm.

Final. Lampe