# IEEE Communications Society eHealth Technical Committee

Meeting Minutes held on Friday 11<sup>th</sup>, October 2013 during Healthcom 2013, Lisbon, Portugal

Friday, October 11<sup>th</sup>, 2013, 14:30 in room 306 ISCP. Chaired by Joel Rodrigues, eHealth TC Vice-Chair Minutes by Nazim Agoulmine, eHealth TC Secretary

The Chair shortly introduced the agenda of the meeting, which was accepted by attendees.

1. Welcome/Introductions: The Chair welcomed the attendees and they shortly introduced themselves to the others. A total of 19 members attended the eHealth TC meeting. The agendas of the meeting and the list of the TC members is enclosed at the end of the minutes.

## 2. Minutes of previous TC meeting

The minutes of last meeting held during ICC 2013, held in Hungary were approved by unanimity.

# 3. Introduction of the Member of the Steering Committee

Prof Feipei Lai (National Taiwan University, Taiwan) member of the Steering Committee did participate for the 1<sup>st</sup> time to the meeting.

### 3. TC Recertification

The TC was recertified in September 2012 and this recertification is for more 3 years.

Strong commitment of TC members is very important for the TC activity.

## 4. eHealth TC Monthly Newsletter

- Bimonthly newsletter.
- 7 newsletters so far.
- TC members to submit contributions to the newsletter editors.
- We would like to identify more correspondents for country to identify activities around eHealth in the country and solicit contributions from actors.

### 5. TC involved Journal/magazine publications

- New feature topic on Communication Magazine on Ambition Assisting Living (guest editor: J.Rodriguez)
- IEEE EMBS: IEEE Journal of Biomedical and Health Informatics (J-BHI): J.Rodriguez was appointed on the Steering Committee of the Journal.
- International Journal of E-Health and Medical Communications (<a href="http://www.igi-global.com/ijehmc">http://www.igi-global.com/ijehmc</a>) (EiC Joel Rodrigues).

- eHealth TC is available to support proposals for special issues on IEEE journals (Wireless Communications, etc.). Any member of the TC can make a proposal.
- Question from Prof J.N De Souza: could we propose a new journal? Response from co-chair: we need to increase the community.

### 6. TC involved in Conferences

IEEE Healthcom 2013

October 9-12, 2013

General Chair: Joel Rodriguez

Submitted papers: 286

Ratio <45%

Lisbon, Portugal

IEEE Globecom 2013 - SAC Track on eHealth

December 9-13, 2013

Track chair: Kookh

Atlanta, USA

IEEE ICC 2014 - SAC Track on eHealth

Track chair: Nazim Agoulmine

Number of submissions: 43 (ICC 2013 was 20)

June 10-14, 2014 Sidney, Australia

IEEE Healthcom 2014

General Chairs: Augusto Neto and Neuman De Souza

Submission deadline: 1pril 30, 2014

October 15-18, 2014

Natal, Brazil

IEEE Globecom 2014 - SAC Track on eHealth

TPC Track Chair: Joel Rodrigues

December 08-12, 2014 Deadline: April 1, 2014 Austin, Texas, 2014

IEEE ICC 2015 - SAC Track on eHealth

TPC Track Chair: London, UK, 2015

### 7. DL

Nazim Agoulmine has been appointed IEEE DL for 2 years 2013-2014 Volunteers are welcome to submit applications to the TC.

#### 8. Standards Liaison

No new information

- 9. Presentation of the organization of the next Healthcom conference in Brazil
- 10. TC Meeting adjourned at 15:30 and next meeting will be held in Globecom 2013 in Atlanta, USA.
- 11. Agenda of the meeting.

Welcome
Minutes of the last TC meeting
eHealth TC Newsletter (Aravind & Nazim)
TC involved Journal/magazine publications
TC-sponsored conferences
Presentation of Healthcom 2014 organisation
Standard
Q&A
Adjourn

#### 11. List of Attendees:

- 1. Joel Rodrigues (eHealth TC Vice-Chair elect) (joeljr@ieee.org)
- 2. Nazim Agoulmine (eHealth TC Secretary) (nagoulmine@ieee.org)
- 3. Mauro Oliveria (IFCE, Brail) (amauroboliveira@gmail.com)
- 4. Noury Norbet (Univ Lyon, France) (Norbert.Noury@insa-lyon.fr)
- 5. Souza José Neuman (UFC, Brazil) (neuman@ufc.br)
- 6. Augusto Neto (UFRN, Brazil), (augusto@dimp.ufrn.br)
- 7. Feipei Lai (National TU, Taiwan), (flai@ntu.edu.tw)
- 8. Chi-Ren Shyu (Univ Missouri, USA), (shyuc@missouri.edu)
- 9. Mehaoua, Ahmed (Univ of Paris), (ahmed.mehaoua@parisdescartes.fr)
- 10. Youssef Iraqi (Khalifa Univà, (youssef.iraqi@kustar.ac.ae)
- 11. His Pin Ma (Nat Tsinghua Univ), (hp@ee.nthu.edu.tw)
- 12. Jiamxin Chen (Namjing Univ of Posts and Telecom, China), (<a href="mailto:chenjx@njupt.edu.cn">chenjx@njupt.edu.cn</a>)
- 13. Liang Zhou, (Namjing Univ of Posts and Telecom, China), (liang.zhou@njupt.edu.cn)
- 14. Victor Torres Pedrosa (Univ of Girona, Spain), (victor.torres@udg.edu)
- 15. Tony Sahama (QUT, Australia), (t.sahama@gut.edu.au)
- 16. Aravind Kailas (UNC Charlottes, USA), (Aravind.Kailas@unc.edu)
- 17. Claudio I Estevez (Universidad de Chile), (<a href="mailto:cestevez@ing.uchile.cl">cestevez@ing.uchile.cl</a>)
- 18. Christos Verikoukis (CTTC), (cveri@ctte.es)
- 19. Stefan Covaci (TU Berlin, Germany), (stefan.covaci@tu-berlin.de)
- 20. Yongqiang Lyn (Jian Song), (Tsinghua Univ), (luyq@tsinghua.edu.cn)
- 21. Maria Martini (Kingston Univ), (m.martini@kingston.ac.uk)